Caribbean Premiere League T20 CPL 2014

The year 2013 saw the birth of a new Twenty 20 league the Caribbean Premiere League. This league is full of some great hitters those who are capable of hitting the ball hard out of the park. This league has replaced the official T20 domestic tournament of the Caribbean and now it is known for the foreign players that take part in it. In the first edition players like Ross Taylor, Ricky Ponting, Shakib AL Hassan and Maxwell were the part of the tournament. Few players had a dream tournament as their performance with both bat and ball lifted the spirits of everyone who loved cricket. The few famous performance of the previous edition includes a blinder of an innings played by Andre Russell. He in the dead end of the match scored 29 runs in 6 balls. His innings turned the table for his team as they pulled out a win from nowhere. Russell was the player in the tournament who acted as the true and consistent entertainer. Another mind blowing performance included the one from one of the best all-rounder’s of the world. Shakib Al Hassan bowled to the perfection taking six wickets and gave away only six runs to the opposition. It was a night when the crowd when mad over Shakib and crowned him their favourite player.

These excitements filled and thrilling moments are set to comeback as the six teams from the Caribbean are set to start their quest to win the ultimate T20 title in the Caribbean. The Jamaica Tallawahs will be the defending champions as in the first year they gave a dominating performance. Guyana Amazon Warriors after being the runners up would be looking to step on peddle, and to amend the mistakes done in the previous year. The other four teams will be making sure to cope up with the quality of the play and to produce games which will take them to the final of the tournament to be played on 16th of August.

CPL 2014 Teams

The first game of the tournament will be played between Guyana Amazon Warriors and Antigua Hawksbills on 11th of July. The format of the game is such that all the six different teams will be playing against each other twice in the league stage. Every win in the league stage gives a 2 point to the winning team. At the end of the league stage the top four teams in the league table qualifies for the next stage of the tournament.

Check out CPL T20 Schedule and download the pdf file.

The CPL this year will be played in eight different cities namely, Barbados, St. Lucia, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Port of Spain, Antigua and St Kitts. The final of the tournament is scheduled to be played in the city of St. Kitts. The tickets for this tournament can be booked online from the official CPL website. The matches will also be telecasted live for the people who love watching the game from home in the homely atmosphere. Gear up for this exciting series in the Caribbean to explode.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>